The College has transitioned to restricting travel award application supporting letters to ACNP members only. Members will be allowed to nominate one person for a Travel Award with the exception to allow one additional nomination for an under-represented minority applicant.  Supporting letters from nonmembers will no longer be accepted.  These program changes will take effect for the 2019 program.  Click here to view current membership list

57th Annual Meeting
December 9-13, 2018 The Diplomat Beach Resort, Hollywood Florida

Congratulations to the 2018 Travel Awardee Class!
Please view the list of Travel Award recipients.

ACNP Travel Award Program

The American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP) annually selects distinguished young scientists in the field of neuropsychopharmacology to be part of our travel award program. These travel awards offer an opportunity to attend an outstanding scientific program in clinical and basic research on brain-behavior-drug interactions; become aware of the most recent, and often unpublished, advances in psychopharmacology; and meet and interact with internationally distinguished researchers and scientists.


  • Annual Meeting registration for award recipient and accompanying other 
  • Up to five nights lodging and roundtrip coach airfare to attend the annual meeting  
  • Ground transportation stipend of $100.00
  • A daily stipend of $50.00 for meals up to six days
  • Childcare stipend of $80 per day, per child
  • Opportunity to present a poster abstract 
  • An ACNP member mentor for the annual meeting
  • An automatic invitation to attend four (4) additional annual meetings with reduced registration fee, and the opportunity to present a poster abstract at each meeting

The application submission site will open March 15, 2018.
The deadline for application submission is April 25th by 5:00pm Central Daylight Time.

Any scientist worldwide is eligible to apply for a travel award. All candidates must be eligible in one of the three applicant tiers AND meet training/post training limits as described below.  Candidates from underrepresented populations in science and medicine are highly encouraged to apply. Previous Travel Awardees are not eligible to apply. 

Junior Level applicants are defined as those individuals who are below Assistant Professor or equivalent level if in a non-academic institution, i.e., trainees including psychiatric residents, interns, and post-doctoral fellows. These applicants may be no more than 5 years past final training (postdoctoral fellowship or residency). Post training for M.D.’s will be counted from the final year of their residency or fellowship. Post training for Ph.D.’s will be counted from the last year of postdoctoral fellowship.

Senior Level applicants are defined as those individuals who are at the Assistant Professor level or its equivalent, but not an R01 awardee. Applicants may be no more than 5 years past their final training (postdoctoral fellowship or residency). Any person who is an Associate Professor or has already obtained an R01, is considered too senior to apply for a travel award. Post training for M.D.’s will be counted from the final year of their residency or fellowship. Post training for Ph.D.’s will be counted from the last year of postdoctoral fellowship.

M.D. and M.D./Ph.D. Student Trainee applicants are defined as those individuals who are currently candidates for M.D. or M.D./Ph.D. Those individuals who have already earned their M.D. or M.D./Ph.D. are ineligible to apply for this student award and should consider applying in the appropriate Junior or Senior level awards. Those working to obtain a Ph.D. only are ineligible for this award and should apply for the Junior level award.  

Eligible applicants must complete a common online application and submit the following:
Curriculum vitae (all applicants), including your publication record and a listing of your research funding and teaching experience, if applicable. Include one line about your role in each peer reviewed original data paper listed and how you contributed to data collection and analysis.
A supporting letter (all applicants), from your director of training, departmental chair, or sponsor (this letter does not need to be written by an ACNP member). The letter should include a concise and compelling description of why you, the candidate, should receive the award. Focus on your research accomplishment and how and why at this time in your development this award would advance your career. Indicate whether you, the candidate, is in the: top 1%, top 5%, top 10%, top 25%, or top 50% of all active research junior colleagues (M.D. or Ph.D.) the recommender has known.
A summary of Early Career Development K or R Award, if applicable.
A one-page focused career statement (all applicants), describe your interest in a travel award including career goals and ambitions with an emphasis on your research goals, your most significant research accomplishments, and why you think this award would benefit you at this time in your career? Address the following: convey in a concise statement what you are working on. Describe your own work, in contrast to that of your mentor(s). Please address how your focus is relevant to the mission of the College.

Although all applicants for a travel award complete one common application, there are several categories within the travel award program as described below. PLEASE NOTE: You will not be asked to specify an award name or type in your submission.  The selection committee will review your application and determine the award recipients for each category. 

  • ACNP Young Investigator Memorial Travel Awards

    These awards were established to commemorate the life and work of deceased College members who made contributions to the field of neuropsychopharmacology: Louis S. Lasagna (1923-2003), Marian Weinbaum Fischman (1939-2001), Arnold J. Friedhoff (1923-2001), Leo Hollister (1920-2000), Seymour Kety (1915-2000), Heinz E. Lehmann (1911-1999), Jerry Sepinwall (1940-1998), Menek Goldstein (1926-1997), Daniel X. Freedman (1921-1993), and Gerald L. Kierman (1928-1992).

  • Travel Award for Minorities and Women

    The College encourages the development of young scientists from minority populations as well as women, so that the field of neuropsychopharmacology may see an increased number of researchers from women and underrepresented minority groups (including but not limited to African-American, Hispanic, Native American, and US Pacific Islander). These individuals might be graduate students, residents, fellows, or newly young faculty members.

  • M.D. & M.D./Ph.D. Student Trainees

    This category allows (5) individuals who are M.D. or M.D./Ph.D. students to attend the annual meeting as a way to learn more about the field of neuropsychopharmacology and the opportunities that are available to them.

  • Harry June Travel Award

    This award is available for the early career researchers in substance abuse and was established in honor of ACNP Member, Harry June, Ph.D. and is funded by the National Institute for Alcoholism and Alcohol Abuse. He was a renowned research scientist in the field of substance abuse and was a devoted mentor to students and young faculty.

  • Athina Markou Travel Award

    This award is available for early career researchers in neuropsychopharmacology. This award was established in honor of ACNP Fellow, Athina Markou, Ph.D. To be eligible for this award, the applicant must have, through his/her research, teaching, and/or clinical activities, demonstrated professional and scientific interest and achievement in the field of neuropsychopharmacology.

The deadline for submission is April 25th by 5:00pm Central Daylight Time.

Award recipients will be notified by email on or before June 29th.

For questions regarding the travel award program, contact Erin Colladay at in the Executive Office.