

August 19, 2016

Barbara Mason, PhD Director, Pearson Center for Alcoholism and Addiction Research The Scripps Research Institute 10550 North Torrey Pines Road La Jolla, CA 92037

Dear Dr. Mason:

It is with great pleasure that the Annual Conference Program Committee of the American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) has selected you, through a nomination and voting process, to be the 2017 recipient of the R. Brinkley Smithers Distinguished Scientist Award. The recipient of this award delivers one of the keynote lectures at the Opening Plenary Session of the ASAM Annual Conference.

This award is to recognize and honor an individual who has made highly meritorious contributions in advancing the scientific understanding of alcoholism, its prevention and treatment. In April 2016, Dr. William R. Miller, PhD, was awarded and spoke at the ASAM Annual Conference in Baltimore, Maryland. More information about the R. Brinkley Smithers Award and other past awardees can be found <u>here</u>.

In accepting this honor, ASAM asks that you present a 20-25-minute lecture for this award from the society for your contributions to the field of alcohol, motivation and change. The ASAM 48th Annual Conference will be held April 6-9, 2017 in New Orleans, LA at the Hilton New Orleans Riverside. Your lecture will be during the Opening Plenary Session on Friday, April 7, 2017 from 8:30 – 10:00 a.m.

On behalf of the American Society of Addiction Medicine, we hope you will accept this honor and serve as one the keynote lecturers in New Orleans, LA. ASAM will provide free registration, travel and logistical assistance. Please kindly confirm your acceptance of this award by **August 26**, **2016** to Jennifer Butchart at <u>ibutchart@ASAM.org</u> or 301.547.4121. Jennifer will also assist you with registration and logistics. If you accept the award, we would also like to include you in potential media events and podcasts during the conference. Thank you for your consideration of this distinguished award.

Congratulations! We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely, glacento nes

R. Jeffrey Goldsmith, MD, DLFAPA, DFASAM, President

cc: Penny S. Mills, MBA, EVP/CEO Arlene C. Deverman, CAE, CLO John Hawkins, CMP, Director of Meetings Molly Mazuk, Manager, Professional Development

4601 N. Park Avenue, Upper Arcade #101, Chevy Chase, MD 20815 Phone: 301.656.3920 | Fax: 301.656.3815 www.ASAM.org

Mulal Jugeliona

THF ASAM

April 6-9, 2017 | New Orleans, LA

Michael Fingerhood, MD, FACP Chair, Annual Conference Committee

OFFICERS

President R. Jeffrey Goldsmith, MD, DLFAPA, DFASAM President-Elect

Kelly Clark, MD, MBA, DFASAM Vice-President

Mark Kraus, MD, DFASAM

Margaret A.E. Jarvis, MD, DFASAM Treasurer

Brian Hurley, MD, MBA, DFASAM Immediate Past President

Stuart Gitlow, MD, MPH, MBA, DFAPA, DFASAM

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Directors-at-Large

Anthony P. Albanese, MD, DFASAM Paul H. Earley, MD, DFASAM Marc Galanter, MD, DFASAM Petros Levounis, MD, MA, DFASAM Yngvild K. Olsen, MD, MPH, FASAM John C. Tanner, DO, DFASAM

Regional Directors

Region I Jeffery Selzer, MD, DFASAM

Region II Jeffery Wilkins, MD, DFAPA, DFASAM Region III

Kenneth Freedman, MD, MS, MBA, FACP, DFASAM

Region IV Mark P. Schwartz, MD, DFASAM

Region V J. Ramsay Farah, MD, MPH, FAAP, FACMP, DFASAM

Region VI Gavin Bart, MD, PhD, FACP, DFASAM

Region VII Howard Wetsman, MD, DFASAM

Region VIII William F. Haning, III, MD, DFASAM, DFAPA Region IX

Ronald Lim, MD, DFASAM Region X Terry Alley, MD, DFASAM

Ex-Officio

Todd J. Kammerzelt, MD, FASAM Ilse R. Levin, DO Surita Rao, MD, FASAM Scott Teitelbaum, MD, DFASAM Norman Wetterau, MD, FAAP, DFASAM Penny S. Mills, MBA, EVP/CEO

FOUNDING PRESIDENT

1895-1989